Search for:
  • Home/
  • Gaming/
  • The Quake II remaster will be released today, it’s claimed

The Quake II remaster will be released today, it’s claimed


Quake II’s reported remaster is set to be released today, according to a reliable leaker.

Billbil-kun, who has been accurately leaking game announcements and release dates for some time now, says the game will be released today at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST.

They also say the game will cost $9.99 / €9.99 / £7.99, but it’s not yet clear whether it will be called Quake II Remastered or Quake II Enhanced (though a South Korean rating for a game called Quake II Enhanced was spotted by Gematsu in June).

If the time of release is accurate, this will coincide with the start of Quakecon 2023, the first presentation of which is set to also start today at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST.

It’s likely, then, that the Quake II remaster will be one of the first things announced during this opening address.

According to information previously shared by billbil-kun, the game will reportedly be released on PC , PS5 , PS4 , Xbox One , Xbox Series X/S and Nintendo Switch.

It will be a different release to Quake II RTX, the enhanced ray-tracing-enabled version of Quake II released by Nvidia in 2019.

After three years of digital-only events, QuakeCon 2023 will make its in-person return at the the Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center in Grapevine, Texas from Thursday August 10 to Sunday August 13.

“QuakeCon is our favorite event of the year, and we can’t wait to finally see our incredible QuakeCon community in-person again, celebrate games, and frag all weekend with thousands of friends,” said Marty Stratton, studio head at id Software.

“For our first year back, QuakeCon 2023 is focusing on the fan-favourite event and the players that made QuakeCon the best gaming gathering for more than 25 years.”