Search for:
  • Home/
  • Tech/
  • BJP announces candidates for bypolls in Kerala, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand | India News

BJP announces candidates for bypolls in Kerala, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand | India News

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Monday announced candidates for the upcoming Assembly bypolls in Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand.

The bypolls are scheduled to be held on September 5, and the counting is on September 8.

For Kerala’s Puthuppally constituency, BJP has nominated Lijinlal G. In Uttar Pradesh’s Ghosi, Dara Singh Chauhan will stand as the party’s candidate, while in Uttarakhand’s Bageshwar (a constituency reserved for the Scheduled Castes), Parvati Das will be the BJP face.

bjp bypoll candidate list BJP announced candidates for three upcoming Assembly elections today.

The Puthuppally by-poll was necessitated after the death of former chief minister of Kerala, Oommen Chandy, who passed away on July 18, He had represented the constituency for a record 12 times since 1970.

Last week, Congress announced Oommen Chandy’s son Chandy Oommen as its candidate for the by-poll.

Most Read

Gadar 2 box office collection Day 3: Sunny Deol film collects a whopping Rs 135 cr in opening weekend, is second highest earner of 2023
India vs West Indies, 5th T20 Highlights: King finishes off with a 6, WI clinch 1st T20I bilateral series win over IND since 2016

BJP’s candidate for the Ghosi bypoll, OBC leader Dara Singh Chauhan, had recently joined the party again after a stint in the Samajwadi Party (SP). OBCs dominate the Ghosi Assembly constituency, and in the past six Assembly elections, Ghosi voters have elected an OBC MLA five times.

The sudden demise of BJP’s Chandan Ram Dass has necessitated the bypoll in Uttarakhand’s Bageshwar.

By-elections to seven Assembly constituencies in six states will be held on September 5, and the results will be announced on September 8. Apart from Puthuppally, Ghosi, and Bageshwar, elections will be held for the Dumri seat in Jharkhand, two seats in Tripura (including Dhanpur), and Dhupguri in West Bengal.

Source link