Search for:
  • Home/
  • Tech/
  • India squad for Asia Cup 2023: Tilak Varma, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer picked | Cricket News

India squad for Asia Cup 2023: Tilak Varma, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer picked | Cricket News

Asia Cup 2023: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 17-member squad for the Asia Cup 2023 on Monday. Chairman of selectors Ajit Agarkar announced the squad in New Delhi on Monday afternoon. The announcement was made after a selection meeting in where Rohit Sharma and Rahul Dravid were also present.

The squad includes a mix of experience and youth, with the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah joined by youngsters like Ishan Kishan, Tilak Varma.

Another notable addition was the inclusion of both KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer. Tilak Varma has also received a maiden ODI call up.

Tilak Varma impressed everyone in his debut series against West Indies. The youngster looked technically sound and showed the temperament required for the international stage. Both former Indian coach Ravi Shastri and the selector Sandeep Patil concurred that they would have the 20-year-old in their team for both Asia Cup and World Cup.

Sanju Samson has been named as back-up keeper for the continental event.

Here is the full squad:

Freedom Sale

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (v/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna. 

The Asia Cup 2023 will be held in two countries in a hybrid model, with Pakistan hosting four games and Sri Lanka nine.

Most Read

Aamir Khan showed up at my one-room-kitchen at midnight because he was not satisfied with a scene: Mushtaq Khan
Gadar 2 box office collection day 9: Sunny Deol-starrer records biggest second Saturday of all time, inches towards Rs 400 crore

India will play their first match against Pakistan on September 2.

The top four teams will progress to the semi-finals and the final will be played on September 17.

The 2023 Asia Cup will be contested by six teams – India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Source link