Search for:
  • Home/
  • Gaming/
  • The Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer beta dates have been announced

The Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer beta dates have been announced


Activision has announced when players will be able to sample Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3’s multiplayer offering prior to release.

As previously confirmed, the publisher plans to showcase Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer at the returning Call of Duty next showcase on October 5.

This event will also provide a look at what’s in store for Call of Duty: Warzone and Call of Duty’s mobile experiences.

The Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer beta will include a selection of core maps from the 16 modernised launch maps in 2009’s Modern Warfare 2, plus new Ground War experiences.

Running from Friday, October 6 at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST / 7pm CEST until Tuesday, October 10 at the same times, the first beta weekend will be available exclusively on PS4 and PS5.

Those who pre-ordered the game will receive two days of early access from launch, with other PlayStation players able to join in when the beta opens up midway through on Sunday, October 8 at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST / 7pm CEST.

The second beta weekend is for all platforms and will support cross-play. It will start on Thursday, October 12 at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST / 7pm CEST and run until Monday, October 16 at the same times. It will be a free open beta weekend for all PS4 and PS5 owners regardless of their pre-order status.

Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S and PC pre-order customers will be granted early access when the second beta weekend launches, while customers who haven’t pre-ordered on these platforms will be able to join in when the beta opens up midway through on Saturday, October 14 at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST / 7pm CEST.

The Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer beta dates have been announced
Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 (PS5)
Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 (PS4 Cross-Gen)
Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 (Xbox Cross-Gen)

A PlayStation Plus subscription is not required to participate in the beta, except in Germany due to the game’s age rating.

An Xbox Live Core subscription may be required for Xbox players during the early access period of the second beta weekend, although one won’t be needed during the open section of the beta.

A Battle.net or Steam account with a mobile phone number linked to the account will be required for all PC players.

Set for release on November 10, Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to last year’s Modern Warfare 2. Development is being led by Sledgehammer Games, in collaboration with Infinity Ward, while Treyarch is in charge of its Zombies mode.