Search for:
  • Home/
  • Tech/
  • Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections: Full list of Congress candidates for the 2023 state polls | Elections News

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections: Full list of Congress candidates for the 2023 state polls | Elections News

The Congress party Sunday released its first list of candidates for the upcoming Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections.

A total 144 candidates have been announced with the current state party chief and former chief minister Kamal Nath set to contest from his pocket borough Chhindwara. He has been touted as the party’s CM face. After the Congress won narrowly in 2018 and appointed Kamal Nath the CM, he won Chhindwara in a by-election by over 25,000 votes.

Jaivardhan Singh, the son of former chief minister Digvijaya Singh, has been fielded from the Raghogarh seat. He was a minister in the last Kamal Nath government that collapsed in March 2021.

Sanjay Shukla will be contesting from Indore-1 against BJP’s vocal national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya. Shukla won by over 8,000 votes in 2018.

Most Read

When ex-ISRO chief was told to ‘get lost’ by ISRO satellite centre
Suhasini Maniratnam says people know Aishwarya Rai only as a ‘beauty’, but she knows her as a ‘real person’: ‘She has got so many qualities…’

The Leader of the Opposition (LoP) Do Govind Singh has been fielded from Lahar district. He is seen as close to both senior Congress leaders Kamal Nath and Digvijaya Singh. In 2018, Singh had won Lahar for the seventh time, beating his BJP rival by over 9,000 votes.

Festive offer

Rau district will be contested by its current MLA and former minister of higher education, sports and youth affairs, Jitu Patwari. He is also the co-chairman of the MP Congress Committee.

The candidates list was followed by reiteration of the poll promise of “OBC ko 27% aarakshan” (27 per cent reservation for the Other Backward Classes). As part of the campaigning, Nath has been reminding people about the OBC reservation hike to 27 per cent in government jobs through the Public Service Commission by his government in 2019.

The Congress with its campaigning is looking to better its good 2018 performance, when it had emerged as the single largest party and formed the government with support from the Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party and Independents to end 15 years of BJP rule.

Source link

S M ( S ( S ( S ( ~ M L [ ( ( M L M M ~ M M F M [ S M L ( F M ( S M M ( S S [ M M S M (