Search for:
  • Home/
  • Tech/
  • Winners of Infosys Prize 2023 for researchers across six categories announced in Bengaluru | Bangalore News

Winners of Infosys Prize 2023 for researchers across six categories announced in Bengaluru | Bangalore News

The Infosys Science Foundation on Wednesday announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2023 in six categories—engineering and computer science, humanities, life sciences, mathematical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. The prize comprises a gold medal, citation and a prize purse of $100,000 (or its equivalent in the rupee).

Infosys prize S N Tripathi

Sachchida Nand Tripathi, a professor of sustainable energy engineering at IIT-Kanpur, is recognised for the deployment of large-scale sensor-based air quality network and mobile laboratory for hyper local measurements of pollution, data generation and analysis using artificial intelligence and machine learning for effective air quality management and citizens awareness. Prof Tripathi’s work has shown that the important differences between observations of winter haze formation in Delhi and those in other places like Beijing are that the nano-particle growth-rate in Delhi is much higher and happens at night without photochemistry. This finding holds the key to mitigating air pollution in India.

Jahnavi Phalkey, humanities

infosys prize Jahnavi Phalkey

Jahnavi Phalkey is the founding director of Science Gallery Bengaluru. She is known for her granular insights into the individual, institutional and material histories of scientific research in modern India. Her book The Atomic State and many articles insightfully braid the global history of science, especially nuclear science, with the anthropology of the postcolonial state to illuminate rich and textured histories of the everyday lives of science in India. Dr Phalkey’s work has emphasised the need to see the history of science as much as a history of scientific ideas, as one of power, practice and the nation-state.

Arun Kumar Shukla, life sciences

infosys prize Arun Shukla

Arun Kumar Shukla, a professor of biological sciences and bioengineering at IIT-Kanpur, is recognised for his far-reaching contributions to the field of G-protein coupled receptor (GPCR) biology. Prof Shukla’s research has established a new understanding of GPCRs, which are one of the most important classes of drug targets. His work has opened up previously uncharted avenues for designing novel and effective therapeutics.

Bhargav Bhatt, mathematical sciences

Festive offer
infosys prize Bhargav Bhatt

Bhargav Bhatt, Fernholz Joint Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study and Princeton University, has made fundamental contributions to arithmetic geometry and commutative algebra. Prof Bhatt’s joint work in prismatic cohomology with German mathematician Peter Scholze introduces new ideas and powerful methods in this area at the heart of pure mathematics.

Mukund Thattai, physical sciences

infosys prize Mukund Thattai

Mukund Thattai, a professor of biochemistry, biophysics and bioinformatics at the National Centre for Biological Sciences, is recognised for his groundbreaking contributions to evolutionary cell biology. Prof Thattai is a physicist who researches how complex cellular organisation emerged from microscopic disorder. Thattai’s work could have profound implications in one of biology’s central mysteries of how complex cells emerged from primordial ones. He is among the pioneers of the physics of life.

Karuna Mantena, social sciences

infosys prize Karuna Mantena

Karuna Mantena, a professor of political science at Columbia University, is known for her research on the theory of imperial rule and the claim that this late imperial ideology became one of the important factors in the emergence of modern social theory. Prof Mantena’s book Alibis of Empire and related papers are landmark publications in political theory with implications for all social sciences. Her impactful book helps us understand that the dramatic shift in imperial policy following the 1857 rebellion in India was not a straightforward reaction to this traumatic event but legitimated by a new ideology of indirect imperial rule that was carefully crafted by the ingenious conceptual work of thinker-administrators such as Henry Maine.

The laureates of Infosys Prize 2023 were shortlisted from 224 nominations by an international panel of renowned scholars and experts. The winners of the Infosys Prize 2023 were announced by the trustees of the Infosys Science Foundation—Kris Gopalakrishnan, NR Narayana Murthy, Srinath Batni, K Dinesh and SD Shibulal. The other trustees of the foundation—Nandan Nilekani, Mohandas Pai and Salil Parekh—extended their felicitations.

Most Read

Tiger 3 box office collection day 3: Salman Khan finally has a blockbuster on his hands, delivers biggest opening weekend of his career
Cricket World Cup: Slow pitch expected for Wankhede semifinal, on Team India’s insistence

Gopalakrishnan, who is president of the foundation, said, “This year marks a landmark moment in the Infosys Science Foundation’s journey. Over the course of 15 years, the Infosys Prize has recognised mid-career researchers who have done impactful, groundbreaking work across disciplines. The prize has helped drive conversations around their work and on a larger scale created meaningful engagement around science and society. I congratulate the winners of the Infosys Prize 2023.”

Murthy, the Infosys founder, said, “Learnability, creativity and innovation are the ways to navigate our fast-changing world. We must be daringly inventive to tackle the daunting and persistent problems of today. The laureates of the Infosys Prize have shown us the importance of this adaptive thinking through their approach to problem solving—be it for centuries-old conjectures in mathematics, translational medicine and diagnostics or finding solutions to societal challenges like poverty. For this I congratulate all the winners of the Infosys Prize and those who have won in 2023.”

The event was hosted at the foundation’s office in Bengaluru.

Source link