Search for:
  • Home/
  • Gaming/
  • Respawn apologises for Apex Legends account reset and lost progress issues

Respawn apologises for Apex Legends account reset and lost progress issues


Respawn has apologised to Apex Legends players who have experienced account resets and lost progress after the studio “messed up” a recent game update.

On Tuesday at 10.35am PT / 6.35pm BST, the studio acknowledged player reports about account resets in Apex Legends and said it was investigating the issue.

Several hours later it released an update targeting the problem. It said anyone logging in from this time would not experience any lost progress or content.

However, players who were already missing progress or content were asked to “hang tight” while the studio worked on an additional fix to restore their accounts to their state before the update.

Respawn provided a further update on the situation on Wednesday at 2am PT / 10am BST.

“We messed up! In order to resolve an account data loss issue, we are temporarily taking the @PlayApex servers offline,” it wrote. “Fear not! We are deploying a fast fix to restore progress and content to affected accounts, but players will not be able to connect to the game during this time.”

In an update published at 5.15am PT / 1.15pm BST, the studio said it had released a fix and the game’s servers were back online.

“As a result of this evening’s rollback, we’re working to restore progress made throughout the course of yesterday,” it said. “Additionally, we’ve had to postpone the new Ranked Split and will roll it out at a later date — more info to come.”

These issues come at a difficult time for Respawn and its flagship game. Last month, the studio was hit with a round of layoffs as part of wider cuts at parent company Electronic Arts.

Respawn apologises for Apex Legends account reset and lost progress issues

Days later, the North American finals of an Apex Legends tournament were postponed after hackers gave competitors cheats mid-game.

Respawn later said it had begun releasing a series of updates that it believed would add extra protection to the game.